How to Block a Group on Facebook

In today’s time, when everyone is using Facebook, there are a large number of groups in which you can communicate with other members.

When you join a group, you will see the posts made in that group in your feed.

Sometimes you feel bored with this post because there are too many people connected to it, and each of them is posting their own. At such a time, you can block that group to avoid seeing it.

So, how do I block a group on Facebook?

👉Fast Answer

Blocking a Facebook group can be done in two ways. It is possible to disable the group notifications and unfollow the group in order to prevent group posts from appearing in your news feed. In the event that you need to communicate with the members, you will have to re-join the group after choosing to exit it, which will also remove any posts made by the group.

This article explains How to Block a group on Facebook, why to block a Facebook group, how to unblock a group on Facebook, and how to block a group in two different ways. Well, let’s get going.

What Does Facebook Group Block Mean?

You can communicate with many friends from the same place within the group on Facebook, which is a good way to talk with friends. You can join any group according to your interest or grief.

When you join any group on Facebook, the posts made in the group start appearing in your feed.

Sometimes this is very good, but too many posts can also annoy you when these posts cloud your Facebook page.

To solve this problem, you can block that group. After you block that group, it will not appear on your Facebook page.

However, even during that time, you can access that group from your main page. You can talk to the members of that group and see all the posts in that group.

How To Block a Group on Facebook

On Facebook, you have the option to leave or unfollow groups. These are Facebook’s two options for blocking a group. Let’s talk about each method.

Method 1: Unfollowing a Facebook Group

When you unfollow a group, you won’t be able to view any posts made by the group unless you log in. To ban a Facebook group, you can also disable group notifications.

Using a PC

To utilize the steps below on a PC or Mac:

1. Open your Facebook account in your browser

Facebook Login Sign Up New Account | Login FB Account Now | How to use facebook, Account facebook, Facebook help

2. Click the search bar at the top and enter the group’s name you want to block.

Click The Search Bar At The Top And Enter The Name Of The Group

3. Once you see the group in the search results, click on it.

How to Search Facebook Group Posts - Group Leads Blog

4. Clicking on the group will take you to its homepage.

Clicking On The Group Will Take You To Its Homepage

5. Click the “Joined” button in the top left corner below the group’s name.

Click The Joined Button

6. Click the “Unfollow group” option.

Click The Unfollow Group

7. Next, click the “Manage notifications” option.

Click The Manage Notifications

8. From the options, click “off” to disable group notifications.

Click Off

9. Click on the “Save” button at the bottom.Click On Save Button

On the Mobile App

On the mobile app, use the steps below:

1. Open the Facebook app on your mobile device.

How Can I Remove My Facebook Account From Other Devices - Solution Draft

2. Scroll down and find a post from a group that you want to block.Find A Post From A Group

3. Click the three dots on the right side of the post.Click The Three Dots On The Right

4. Click the option for “Unfollow [group’s name].” That will block all posts from the group.

Click The Option For Unfollow Group Name

5. To turn off notifications, click on the group to open it.Click On The Group To Open It

6. Tap the “Joined” button below the group’s name.Tap The Joined Button

7. Select “More options”

Select More Options

8. Tap on “Turn off notifications”

Tap On Turn Off Notifications

By following the above instructions, you have disabled group notifications and unfollowed the group on Facebook, effectively blocking it.

Method 2: Leaving the Group

As a permanent method of blocking a Facebook group, you can choose to leave the group if you no longer think it is helpful.

You will no longer be able to post or leave comments on the group if you leave it. In light of that, follow the steps given below.

On a PC

Follow these steps:

1. Open your browser and log in to your Facebook account

Facebook Login Sign Up New Account | Login FB Account Now | How to use facebook, Account facebook, Facebook help

2. Search for the group by typing its name in the search bar at the top.

Click The Search Bar At The Top And Enter The Name Of The Group

3. Once it comes up, click on it to open its homepage.

Clicking On The Group Will Take You To Its Homepage

4. Click the “Joined” button on the left.

Click The Joined Button

5. From the listed options, click the “Leave group” option.

Click The Leave Group

6. A prompt will appear for you to confirm your action by clicking the “Leave Group” button.

Click The Leave Group Again

And that’s it. Until you re-join, you are no longer a part of the group.

On the Mobile App

Follow these steps:

1. Open the Facebook app.

How Can I Remove My Facebook Account From Other Devices - Solution Draft

2. Tap your profile picture at the top right.Click Your Profile Picture At The Top Right

3. Scroll down and tap the “Groups” button.

Click The Groups Button

4. Next, tap the option for “Your groups”

Click The Option For Your Groups

5. A list of the Facebook groups you are a member of will be displayed.A List Of Groups Will Be Displayed

6. Locate the one you want to leave and tap on it.Locate The One You Want To Leave7. Tap the “Joined” button below the group’s name and info.Tap The Joined Button

8. Select “Leave Group” from the options.

Select Leave Group From The Options.

You can permanently block a Facebook group once you leave it.

Read Now: WHAT DOES FB MEAN ON FACEBOOK: A CLEAR AND NEUTRAL EXPLANATION

Conclusion

For many people, one of their frequent concerns is how to block a group on Facebook.

You have two choices now: to leave the group or unfollow the group to stop receiving notifications.

Decide which choice is best for you.

Vaibhav Patel

HEY! I'm Vaibhav Patel (founder and editor of Digitalvaibhavreview.com), a digital marketer, affiliate marketer, and blogger writing about reviews, blogging tips, entertainment, and tech tips, among others.

Leave a Comment